When you are in the middle of a story it isn’t a story at all, but only a confusion; a dark roaring, a blindness, a wreckage of shattered glass and splintered wood; like a house in a whirlwind, or else a boat crushed by the icebergs or swept over the rapids, and all aboard powerless to stop it. It’s only afterwards that it becomes anything like a story at all. When you are telling it, to yourself or to someone else” (Margaret Atwood)

The debut album from Glasgow based singer/songwriter Carol Beckwith takes inspiration from artworks created as the narratives of artists who use art to describe their mental health recovery. Each song is an introspection on what it means to be mentally well in the face of our own, often difficult, personal circumstances.

This album is an exploration of stories that other people tell and reminds us why they should matter to everyone.  Those familiar with current contemporary folk music may recognise the influences of the likes of Samantha Whates, Karine Polwart and Yvonne Lyon.

Track List


  1. Call Off The Search
  2. One Foot In The Garden
  3. Painted Faces
  4. Still We Wait
  5. Passing Places
  6. Every Move
  7. Nothing Gold
  8. Close My Eyes
  9. Everything Takes Time
  10. Look The Other Way
  11. Into The Light

What Others Said


“The most beautiful sense of melody”

– Gretchen Peters


‘Richly textured, melodic songwriting with a big heart’

– David Scott, The Pearlfishers